The university’s history

Welcome to

Western University

Western University is formerly known as Niwattana University and has been authorized and accredited by the Minister of Education (Minister of university Affairs) to establish a private higher education institution under license no. 2/2540.

On June 18th 1997, the University was established to commemorate the auspicious occasion decreed by the late Bhumibol Adulyadej to bestow the royal title “Princess of Naradhiwas” to his late sister Galyani Vadhana.

The university aims to sustain the country’s growth in the central region and to introduce more opportunity in education to all region of Thailand by giving emphasis to the promotion of the country’s human resources development.

The university’s missions are guided by 4 main tasks which are to produce quality graduates, to promote researches and studies, to provide academic services to the society and to preserve Art and culture. The totality of the missions is to promote the development of the country’s human resources and ultimately to address the country’s need in providing higher education that produces human resources that are highly skilled, equipped with academic excellence, highly professional and righteous.
At present, Western university opens its admission for Bachelor degree programs in 13 faculties as follows:

Faculty of Health Science and Social Science

  1. Faculty of Veterinary Science
  2. Faculty of Medical Technology
  3. Faculty of Nursing (Kanchanaburi campus)
  4. Faculty of Nursing (Watcharapol campus)
  5. Faculty of Nursing (Buriram campus)
  6. Faculty of Public Health Science
  7. Faculty of Engineering
  8. Faculty of Arts and Science
  9. Faculty of Business Management and Public Administration
  10. Faculty of Laws
  11. College of Education through Network

 Master degree programs

  1. Master of Public Administration
  2. Master of Education Program in Educational Administration
  3. Master of Public Health Program in Public Health Administration
  4. Master of Laws
  5. Master of Business Administration
  6. Master of Engineering Program in Engineering Management

 Doctorate degree programs

  1. Doctor of Philosophy Program in Public Administration
  2. Doctor of Philosophy Program in Educational Administration
  3. Doctor of Philosophy Program in Public Health
  4. Doctor of Laws
  5. Doctor of Business Administration


Western University 4 Moo 11 Hathairaj Road, Latsawai Lamlukka Pathumtani Province, Thailand

Telephone :(66) 2563-5252-3 

Fax  :(66) 2563-5252


Wacharaphol Campus

Kanchanaburi Campus

Burirum Campus